Partnership Gwinnett hosted the Student Teacher Achievement Recognition (STAR) Reception, sponsored by the Professional Association of Georgia Educators and PAGE Foundation, at the John C. Maxwell Leadership Center in Duluth on Feb. 1, 2024. More than 200 students, teachers, and guests attended the annual event that honors the highest-achieving seniors and their most academically influential teachers.

“Gwinnett County is home to some of the nation’s best high schools,” said Partnership Gwinnett Director of Workforce Solutions Autumn Andrews. “We are honored to celebrate these talented students who represent our future workforce and the teachers who have made a difference in their lives.”

The presentation recognized more than 75 recipients from 33 schools, including Buford City Schools, Gwinnett County Public Schools, Greater Atlanta Christian School, Hebron Christian Academy, Killian Hill Christian School, Notre Dame Academy, Providence Christian Academy, Sugar Hill Christian Academy, and Wesleyan School:

From Buford City Schools:

  • Madeleine Branche and teacher Amber Simmons, Buford High School
  • Julia Travis and teacher Erik Mason, Buford High School

From Gwinnett County Public Schools:

  • Brandon Woolfolk and teacher Joni Jameson, Archer High School
  • Isaac Monteiro and teacher Gary Haynes, Berkmar High School
  • Louis Harney and teacher Mirela Kimbrough, Brookwood High School
  • Kapil Shankar and teacher John Chvatal, Brookwood High School
  • Emmanuel Ekpenyong and teacher Franchesca Brothers, Central Gwinnett High School
  • Ambrose Bussey and teacher Holli Krieger, Collins Hill High School
  • Sybellah Kidd- Shugart and teacher Lyle Cruse, Dacula High School
  • Caroline Skelley and teacher Diane Sullivan, Discovery High School
  • Daniel Dixon and Dr. Charulatha Krishnasamy, Duluth High School
  • Saadia Manzar and teacher Jessica King, Grayson High School
  • Yahia Nino and teacher Mary (Kristen) Brigmond, Gwinnett County Online Campus
  • Parv Mahajan and teacher Julia Rachkovskiy, Gwinnett School of Mathematics, Science & Technology
  • David Kwack and teacher Laura Wood, Lanier High School
  • Cristian Jaramillo and teacher Teresa Brooks, McClure Health Science High School
  • Apurbo Roy and teacher Pintu Thaker, Meadowcreek High School
  • Esther Jung and teacher Greg Marr, Mill Creek High School
  • Daniel Phan and teacher David Novelly, Mountain View High School
  • Sabah Geresu and teacher Keren Matias Coronado, Norcross High School
  • Lisa Van Ness and teacher Michelle Larate, Norcross High School
  • Jillian Vacha and Andrea Boyce, North Gwinnett High School
  • Hanny Wu and teacher Kim Korth, Parkview High School
  • Peyton Harvey and teacher Brandon Horsley, Paul Duke STEM High School
  • Megan Lee and teacher Morgan King, Peachtree Ridge High School
  • Emily Clarke and Collins Hill High School teacher Ashley Holbrooks, Phoenix High School
  • Skylar Gindlesperger and Buford High School teacher Matthew Johnson, Seckinger High School
  • Ikponmwenosa “Ikpo” Osarenkhoe and teacher Joseph Trevon Lamar, Shiloh High School
  • Christine “Kano” Sylvestre and teacher Brandon Piper, South Gwinnett High School

From Gwinnett’s Private Schools:

  • Guanhan “Kevin” Liu and Dr. Marcus Miller, Greater Atlanta Christian School
  • Isabella “Bella” Annett and teacher Dawn Lyon, Hebron Christian Academy
  • Ebunoluwa “Ebun” Kayode and teacher Wendy Monroe, Killian Hill Christian School
  • Wonseo “Clare” Lee and teacher Elena Ouimette, Notre Dame Academy
  • Abigail “Abby” Alemayehu and teacher Renee Sargent, Providence Christian Academy
  • Katherine “Katie” Jones and teacher Stephen Stubbs, Sugar Hill Christian Academy
  • Tengle Wang and teacher Jeff Foster, Wesleyan School

PAGE Educational Membership Services Representative Laurie L. Provost also announced the system winners who will compete for region honors. Region winners will then compete for state honors.

System Winners:

  • Madeleine Branch and Dr. Amber Simmons, Buford High School
  • Julia Travis and teacher Erik Mason, Buford High School
  • Jillian Vacha and teacher Andrea Boyce, North Gwinnett High School
  • Parv Mahajan and teacher Julia Rachkovskiy, Gwinnett School of Mathematics, Science & Technology

The PAGE STAR honors the highest-achieving high school seniors and their most academically influential teachers. Students must have the highest score on any single SAT taken through the November test date of their senior year with their SAT scores equal to or higher than the 2023 national average scores on the evidence-based math, reading, and writing sections, as well as rank in the top 10% or top 10 students of their class based on their GPA.

Translate This Site »
Share This